Is it worth swapping the Vive Pro for an Index?

JG301_Megla

Anyone have experience with the two?  I have been using a pro with gear vr lenses for about 3 years. Would the index be an upgrade at this point? 

chiliwili69

I had the VivePro (no mods) and currently have the Index.

The vivepro without the mod was blurry in the edges. But I believe that with the mod the clarity is better.

The resolution is the same in term of pixels, but the OLED panel of the VivePro has only two subpixels per pixel and the Index is LCD with 3 subpixels per pixel.

Also I think that the panel utilization (area of the panel that it is seen) is higher in the Index.

FOV is also better vertically and horizontally.

I don´t know if you can order just the headset and deliver it back if you consider the improvement is not good enough.

30speed

I had a vive-pro first, did a gearvr mod, awesome setup. Decided to pre-order Index to try it out and ended up returning it.

Index:

pro's:  noticeable bump in vertical FOV, a barely noticeable bump in horizontal FOV

con's:  glare, glare galore, my gawd so much glare. Greys everywhere, no black colors.

Vivepro:

pro's:  inky blacks, the night looks like a normal night. GearVR mod brings 100% lens clarity and a 100% lens wide sweet spot

con's:  a bit less of a FOV, noticeably vertical FoV.

Try to fly a mission in the dusk with VivePro. You will never experience such color contrast with Index. Frankly the glare+grey colors will make the night/dusk flying unbearable.

JG301_Megla

Thanks for the feedback guys. The images of the grey contrast on the index killed it for me. Ended up upgrading from a 1080ti to 3080.  Even though I would have to say the 1080 still put out a consistent 90fps.