56RAF_Talisman

Hint - Mosquito - look, no rivets!

Would love to see this aircraft with IL-2 GB.

Happy landings,

56RAF_Talisman

Edited by 56RAF_Talisman
  • Like 6

I would love to see it in game as well! Either as a collector plane or part of the main plane set.

26 minutes ago, Cpt_Siddy said:

First composite construction plane mass produced and to see combat. 

Err.... Lagg-3 might get that honour and pinches it by a couple of months methinks...

• Upvote 1

I do find the Mosquito quite the amazing aircraft due to its construction. I may not work in aerospace but i am a mechanical engineer. During school we were taught a bit about using wood, it was mostly a "here's a table of the range of strength which any given piece of wood of this type might have, we will always assume the lower value" and that was that. For the low strength assumption wood is not a particularly great material for its weight; however, at the higher strength assumptions is a rather great material, especially for its price and machineability. Now i'm also not a carpenter, but i have attempted to work with wood a few times in non-structural uses, this made it clear how much of an art carpentry is. If you have carpenters with good eyes for wood you can make some phenomenally strong things. 

Concrete, on the other hand, is a fairly well-understood engineering material. It falls out of favor with many engineers aside from ones of the persuasion of building targets because it is not isotropic -- it does not have the same material properties in all directions. Concrete is incredibly strong, and hard, but it only works well in compression. Take a concrete pillar from a road (with rebar removed) and load it in tension and it'll break at somewhere around 1/5th the compressive strength (if i'm remembering these values right, it's been a while since i looked at them).