rogueblade

How do you navigate without landmarks or a homing indicator?

Posted (edited)

I'm new to IL2 VR from the Steam summer sale, I've got BoS and BoK and so far playing the Yak-7b exclusively having done the scripted tutorial missions a few times over, numerous quick missions and reading engine management guides. I used to play 1946 over 10 years ago.

Before taking on a real mission I thought I better learn something about navigation, because none of the gameplay I'd experienced so far required it. I watched this guide as well as this one and then jumped in.

I did my first 'real mission' from the Kuban Missions folder which contained a single Yak-7b mission. It had me fly over the ocean to protect some ships. Because it was entirely ocean, aside from pointing my nose South West, I had no idea how to get there, when I'd get there and where I was at any given point in time. I had no landmarks to follow or homing indicator to point me where to go.

How do players or IRL WWII pilots fly a mission like this? In the end I just flew the mission with the map overlay on which made it feel like cheating and too easy.

map.PNG

Edited by rogueblade

Dead reckoning. Airspeed, compass and clock

• Upvote 1

You have the  speed, time, distance and headings on the map. make a note of them and try to keep your speed as noted. note the time on the clock and change course when reaching the set number of minutes. It´s called "dead reconing" and was the navigation used in the war. (You may need to check the wind direction and speed to make the required adjustments too)

i wish the map had measurement tools,like what silent hunter had, and a compass so you could determine what directions to steer 

• Upvote 1

Got it. I will try planning my flghts with 0 map and 0 HUD using high school maths before I hit multiplayer 

Try youtubing dead reckoning.  As an IRL pilot, it's one of the first skills you learn, other than keeping the bird above 0.