Grumpy72

Joystick Frustrations

I am really at the end of my tether with this and I really need some help.
I have two copies of IL2 one on Steam and one on disk, the ultimate version patched to 4.13.4 (I think).
The problem is I cannot get the game to see my joysticks. I have three a VKB Gladiator MK11, a X56 stick and throttle and a T.Flight Hotas X. None of them exsist as far as both copies of the games are concerned. I've spent over a week on line trying to find a solution but nothing I've tried has made a blind bit of difference. I'm hoping the wealth of knowledge on this forum will soon have my problem sorted out. I don't even mind being shown to be a complete noob should the answer turn out to be something simple. 

S! 

Do you use them at the same time? Does Windows see them? Have you calibrated the VKB sticks using their own control software? 

Has been long since I played original IL-2, but should it not have a similar controller config file somewhere as the other iterations have? If deleting this file would reset the situation and plug in one of the sticks to see if it works? 

Sounds a bit like problem I've suffered too, but IF you have ONLY those 3 controllers then it is something different... You see IL-2 '46 supports only 4 first controllers (IIRC). If you have more attached (gamepads, throttles, rudders so on...) it just disregards some of them, depending of their id. I have had to use vJoy and Gremlin to map those, but it is pain/blind luck to get the vJoy to be one of those 4 first controllers.

Hi,

the first thing to do, before even thinking of running the game, is to ensure your Windows OS "sees" all your input devices and you can test/access them.

Now, it's been a really loooong time, I've played IL2-1946. But I remember having trouble assigning all my axis in the game. Some of my input devices,

although recognized in my Windows OS and working correctly there, simple were not recognized by the game.