chiliwili69

Overclocking a 4790K for better BOS performance

I have just acquired a brand new 4790K since it is the top processor for the 1150 socket. Also acquired a basic air cooler (Sycthe Katana 4, since my case is microATX) because I am planning to do some moderate overclocking.

It is my first "K" processor and I have never done overclocking before (I didn´t have the need to do it when playing at monitor but in VR I need more).

I have spent some hours reading about this "science" or "art". It is a whole world of freaks things (I saw people using liquid nitrogen to cool the CPU!!) that I am really lazy to learn, I just prefer to use my limited time playing BOS.

I have learnt that I can run the OC in default auto mode, and the system is running the cores in the 4.2 - 4.4 range. I also have learnt that I can force to manual mode and run all the cores to a fix multiplier rate (44 x 100MHz) and try do put the lowest stable Vcore voltage, so there will be less heat to be removed and the temperatures will be lower. Nobody recommend the auto mode since it uses a higher voltage than needed.

I have also updated my BIOS, my Chipset and downloaded a ton of tools: MSI Command Center, XTU, Open Hardware Monitor, CPU-Z, GPU-Z...

This weekend I expect to have some free time to start to do some testing with the OC thing. I measure how the BOS performance increases.

Is there any particular trick I should be aware about?

Any recommended clock speed/Vcore for 4790K with BOS with air cooling?

If I run some cores at 4.2 and others at 4.4, is BOS selecting the fastest cores to run in?

Edit: I have just found a nice table for speed/Vcore  http://www.overclock.net/t/1411077/haswell-overclocking-guide-with-statistics

Edited by chiliwili69

wait did i miss something..

IL2 is maxing out your 4790K? NO WAY EVER!!

Lol mate on the stock speeds the game will used about 10-20% CPU usage in MULTIPLAYER and maybe 5-15% in Singleplayer.