decipher

Separate Control Settings per Aircraft

hello!

i am relatively new to BoS/BoM, but have been flying the il-2 series and other (combat) flight sims for many years.

Since there is an ever growing number of very different Aircraft available to fly in BoS/BoM, for me it would be essential to have a way to easily save/load separate Control Layouts for individual Planes.

The best way to manage this would be an automatic system, that allows the user to set up a different control scheme for each aircfraft model (just like it is available in RoF - i hope it is ok to reference to this) - which will get loaded seamlessly before you start a mission. this way you can have all your button assignments and axis settings ready, especially needed if you switch between fighter and bomber airplanes, which will need a very different set of controls on my HOTAS system.

the minimum solution for this would be to have a proper "load/save" controls layout option available in the settings, where the user can manually save the current control scheme and give it a proper filename (for each plane - or aircraft type), and just load the one he needs for his next sortie.

i think this would be beneficial for a lot of people, and with the upcoming (and very eagerly awaited) pacific extension for me this becomes a necessity for fully utilizing the sim.

i guess until a feature like this is implemented there is a work around by copying over some ini / config files, where the controller scheme is stored in? if anyone knows the exact files that need to be copied, please share!

thanks for your time and i hope some other people will find this suggestion worthwhile.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 6

The files should be one of these

By community request, here is a short instruction on how to preserve key and axis bindings (for example, in a case of a complete reinstall):

1. You need to back up these files:
<game_folder>\data\input\current.actions
<game_folder>\data\input\current.devices