Photo

Assistance required, BF109 F-2 etc

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 No.6_OTU_Halon

No.6_OTU_Halon

Posted 07 December 2016 - 18:32

Hi, I'm a keen but quite novice pilot whose focused solely on VVS up till this point. As a complete aeronoob sometimes its hard to tell whether I'm doing something wrong or if things are behaving as planned. I'm currently transfering over to the BF109 F-2 in anticipation of the upcoming campaign.

Firstly I'm finding it quite hard, in general, to aim smoothly. I often find myself zeroing in on a ground target only to find myself veering all over the place once I'm within range. What can I do to be a bit more fine tuned? Air to air shooting is less of a problem.

Secondly could someone explain what the Adjustable Stabiliser is? Is it just horizontal trim with another name?

Lastly a good guide to the BF109 F-2 would be great if anyone could share a link.

Thanks for any help rendered.

#2 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester

Posted 07 December 2016 - 18:36

Secondly could someone explain what the Adjustable Stabiliser is? Is it just horizontal trim with another name?

It controls the plane's pitch by adjusting the angle of the tailplane. Similar in function to pitch trim but not exactly the same thing. You'll also find it on the MC.202 and FW 190 (the latter uses keypresses to adjust it).

Edited by LukeFF, 07 December 2016 - 18:37.

#3 gnomechompsky

gnomechompsky

Posted 03 January 2017 - 14:58

What is the difference between them though?

#4 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester

Posted 03 January 2017 - 15:25

What is the difference between them though?

Pitch trim - adjusts trim tabs on the horizontal tailplane

Adjustable Stabilizer - adjusts the entire horizontal tailplane

That's the simplified version of it. :) Someone else will need to provide a more detailed explanation. 

#5 GridiroN

GridiroN
  • Founder

Posted 03 January 2017 - 22:18