KiwiWithAHat

Saitek X52 pro setup?

Hello, I am new to the world of flight simulation. My Saitek X-52 Pro just arrived today, and my trackir should be on its way soon. I have a few questions.

#1. I'd like to set up my joystick as realistically but easily as possible, like having flaps positions where they would be irl and stuff.

#2. I've seen some in depth cockpit guides, can you actually look around and toggle things by clicking your mouse on them and such?

#3. Does anybody have a joystick setup, or at least a guide? Thanks.

I have experience in war thunder, lots, but zero joystick experience. I'm a bit overwhelmed with this all, thanks.

Use the SST Programming software that comes with your stick. I pretty much have everything I need mapped to my x52 pro buttons. Then when you hold the pinky trigger down you basically double your amount of buttons to use for stuff.

I did have to reassign some of the stock keyboard controls to simpler key combinations so the software would pick up the key combo in IL2 BoS. For example I changed auto level to the A key instead of ALT + A or whatever it is by default, stuff like that. I'll post more info when I have time.

I don't know if my setup is historical but I try to keep a similar setup for gear, flaps, guns, for all my flight sims. That helps me remember.

Helo Kiwi.   :bye:

Chuck's guides, all about all planes - the "vir'pilov" Bible.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-uSpZROuEd3WV9zRFRwMDJVWGc/view

Game official manual: 

http://www.rofmods.com/User_Manuals/IL2_BOS_Manual_English_1011_rev1.zip

BTW - On page 34 how... shoot flares.  :biggrin:

#1. I'd like to set up my joystick as realistically but easily as possible, like having flaps positions where they would be irl and stuff.

Bear in mind that in different planes, flaps is controlled in different ways, positions, some use a wheel, other lever, other electrical push buttons as you see in the above guide/manuals.