Jump to content


Photo

Bf 110 E-2 cockpit guide and engine operation notes


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 24 November 2015 - 14:40

Attached File  Bf 110 E-2 Cockpit_English.png   2.85MB   70 downloads

 

Engine: DB 601A

Max Continuous Power: 1.18 ata

Max Combat Power: 1.26 ata, 30-minute limit

Max Emergency Power: 1.40 ata, 1-minute limit

 

Supercharger: automatic

Fuel mixture: automatic

 

Engines can be individually feathered

 

Oil Radiators: manually controlled with the He-111, Bf-110 oil radiators: open one step and He-111, Bf-110 oil radiators: close one step commands

Water Radiators: manually controlled with the Bf-109/110 water radiator: open and Bf-109/110 water radiator: close commands

 

Tailwheel: non-lockable

 

Lighting: cockpit, navigation, and landing

 

Adjustable trim: pitch and yaw

 

Weapon systems: cannons are drum-fed and thus must be reloaded every 60 rounds with the Reload all guns command. The selection and release of bombs can be adjusted with the Drop bombs mode toggle command


Edited by LukeFF, 24 November 2015 - 22:57.

  • 13

#2 JtD

JtD
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2631

Posted 24 November 2015 - 15:17

Up to this moment I was thinking we were getting the DB601N. What a disappointment. So it's basically the same plane we have in CloD, just heavier.
  • 0

Facts are the best defence against the experts.


#3 I./ZG1_Martijnvdm

I./ZG1_Martijnvdm
  • Founder
  • Posts: 837
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 24 November 2015 - 15:38

Thnx for the quick reference. This always helps!!

Up to this moment I was thinking we were getting the DB601N. What a disappointment. So it's basically the same plane we have in CloD, just heavier.

It should have the 601P, wich is the 110 version of the 601N. So i guess you have a point.

Edited by martijnvdm, 24 November 2015 - 15:41.

  • 0

I7 4790K@4.7 GHz, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Kingston HyperX Beast (t3) 16GB, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Dell S2716DG, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB, Windows 10 64

   

         


#4 Yankee_One

Yankee_One
  • Founder
  • Posts: 432
  • Location:behind you at your 6 o clock

Posted 24 November 2015 - 16:05

Thanks Luke,

 

great to have those guides!


  • 0


#5 Bando

Bando
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1401
  • Location:A Dutchman living in Germany.

Posted 24 November 2015 - 18:29

Thanks!!


  • 0

System specs:

Spoiler

#6 ST_ami7b5

ST_ami7b5
  • Tester
  • Posts: 2193

Posted 24 November 2015 - 18:42

Thanks Luke!


  • 0
Posted ImagePosted Image

W10/64, i7-2600K, 8GB RAM and damned GTX780

#7 Eldur

Eldur
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1792
  • Location:On a fluffy cloud above Ponyville

Posted 24 November 2015 - 21:47

My engines fried, well sort of, temps were OK, after just a single minute @ 1.40ata.


  • 0

Spoiler

#8 Matt

Matt
  • Tester
  • Posts: 2463
  • Location:Frankfurt / Germany

Posted 24 November 2015 - 22:32

The engine limits in the OP are a bit off.

 

It's like this:

 

1.40 / 2400 - 1 minute
1.30 / 2400 - 5 minutes
1.23 / 2300 - 30 minutes
1.15 / 2200 - unlimited


Edited by Matt, 24 November 2015 - 22:32.

  • 1
i5-4670k - GTX 970 - 8GB DDR3 - Windows 10 - VKB Gladiator Pro + Warthog grip - TM Warthog throttle - VKB T-Rudder Mk.IV - PC360 - TrackIR5 - Monster Tech table mounts

#9 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 24 November 2015 - 22:57

Roger, I've updated the first post. 


  • 0

#10 FuriousMeow

FuriousMeow
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2788
  • Location:Right meow?

Posted 27 November 2015 - 04:53

Is there a reason for the DB601A (really 601B which is the A with a different prop/engine ratio)? It should be the 601P (N with a different prop/engine ratio) by the time the E-2 came about. Only very early Es were equipped with the DB601B, but the 601P was readily available by the time the E-2 rolled around. From everything I've read, the 601P are on E-2s and later plus retroactively replacing 601Bs on 110Ds and E-1s.

 

I know most little models put 87 octane tags which would mean they had 601Bs, but those aren't trustworthy for a source of what should go there. By early 1941 I found that over 100 110E-1s were equipped with 601Ps. By the time late 1941 came about the 601N/P numbers were quite high. The 601N was used in the 109F-2 until the 601E became available to create the 109F-4 and we are getting a 109F-2 so I'm hoping they are going to do the 601N for it - and if that's the case then the data should be all set to add it to the E-2 with some tweaking and changing the prop/engine ratio to give the 110 E-2 the engines it should have.


Edited by FuriousMeow, 27 November 2015 - 04:58.

  • 3

I'm a paid shill according to some SimHQ Mensa candidates.


#11 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 13:45

Is there a reason for the DB601A (really 601B which is the A with a different prop/engine ratio)? It should be the 601P (N with a different prop/engine ratio) by the time the E-2 came about. Only very early Es were equipped with the DB601B, but the 601P was readily available by the time the E-2 rolled around. From everything I've read, the 601P are on E-2s and later plus retroactively replacing 601Bs on 110Ds and E-1s.

 

I know most little models put 87 octane tags which would mean they had 601Bs, but those aren't trustworthy for a source of what should go there. By early 1941 I found that over 100 110E-1s were equipped with 601Ps. By the time late 1941 came about the 601N/P numbers were quite high. The 601N was used in the 109F-2 until the 601E became available to create the 109F-4 and we are getting a 109F-2 so I'm hoping they are going to do the 601N for it - and if that's the case then the data should be all set to add it to the E-2 with some tweaking and changing the prop/engine ratio to give the 110 E-2 the engines it should have.

 

Agreed everything I've read indicates we should have the 601P.

 

Is this just a typo or are we getting the wrong performance from the 110?


  • 0

#12 Space_Ghost

Space_Ghost
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3292
  • Location:Southern Dakota Territory, United States

Posted 27 November 2015 - 14:34

Luke,

 

Any idea what the two white indication lights are on the dashboard?

 

It's labled Umschaf(somethingsomething) Links/Rechts and is positioned below the T/B indicator and above the artificial horizon.

 

Thanks!


  • 0

"Stop pulling so hard. You don't have to get someone under the gunsight right this second to win the fight." - Go_Pre

6700K @ 4.7GHz - GTX1080 @ 2.1GHz (11000MHz mem clock) - 16GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz - Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) - Dell S2716DG (1440p, G-Sync)

"You need to be a lucky genius to get the FM completely right. And even then Kornezov will always complain." - JG27_Kornezov


#13 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 14:42

Luke,

 

Any idea what the two white indication lights are on the dashboard?

 

It's labled Umschaf(somethingsomething) Links/Rechts and is positioned below the T/B indicator and above the artificial horizon.

 

Thanks!

 

We were wondering about that as well. I think it should say Umschaltwarnung?

 

I've searched and it could be a fuel tank switch warning


  • 0

#14 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 14:52

You might be able to read it off this 


or here

 

http://www.classics-...c.php?f=2&t=109

Attached Files


  • 0

#15 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1910

Posted 27 November 2015 - 17:39

Umschaltwarnung... Its a low fuel warning that registers when one of the fuel tanks gets to a certain level I believe.


  • 0

IL2.jpg


#16 Space_Ghost

Space_Ghost
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3292
  • Location:Southern Dakota Territory, United States

Posted 27 November 2015 - 18:11

Umschaltwarnung... Its a low fuel warning that registers when one of the fuel tanks gets to a certain level I believe.

 

Weird... Both of mine seem to turn on simultaneously, albeit randomly, even with a 60% fuel load.


  • 0

"Stop pulling so hard. You don't have to get someone under the gunsight right this second to win the fight." - Go_Pre

6700K @ 4.7GHz - GTX1080 @ 2.1GHz (11000MHz mem clock) - 16GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz - Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) - Dell S2716DG (1440p, G-Sync)

"You need to be a lucky genius to get the FM completely right. And even then Kornezov will always complain." - JG27_Kornezov


#17 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 27 November 2015 - 18:25

Luke,

 

Any idea what the two white indication lights are on the dashboard?

 

It's labled Umschaf(somethingsomething) Links/Rechts and is positioned below the T/B indicator and above the artificial horizon.

 

Thanks!

 

Not sure - I'll have to look into what exactly those are.

 

Umschaltwarnung... Its a low fuel warning that registers when one of the fuel tanks gets to a certain level I believe.

 

No, those are farther down and marked on the guide.


  • 0

#18 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 18:30

Weird... Both of mine seem to turn on simultaneously, albeit randomly, even with a 60% fuel load.

 

Yeh set 60% fuel and they're both off I think because you have some fuel in the other tanks, as they drain and switch to the last two the lights come on. We all flew with 60% but two of us were airborne for longer and ours turned on in order of who'd taken off first which made us suspect it was fuel related.


Umschaltwarnung... Its a low fuel warning that registers when one of the fuel tanks gets to a certain level I believe.

 

I don't think it's the low fuel warning, its a warning to show the tanks switching


  • 0

#19 Space_Ghost

Space_Ghost
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3292
  • Location:Southern Dakota Territory, United States

Posted 27 November 2015 - 18:52

Not sure - I'll have to look into what exactly those are.

 

-snip-

 

Thanks!


  • 0

"Stop pulling so hard. You don't have to get someone under the gunsight right this second to win the fight." - Go_Pre

6700K @ 4.7GHz - GTX1080 @ 2.1GHz (11000MHz mem clock) - 16GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz - Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) - Dell S2716DG (1440p, G-Sync)

"You need to be a lucky genius to get the FM completely right. And even then Kornezov will always complain." - JG27_Kornezov


#20 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 27 November 2015 - 19:26

Thanks!

 

Sure thing. :) Yeah, this one is a bit of a mystery. None of my references describe it, so I have emailed the site owner of http://www.deutscheluftwaffe.de/. Hopefully he can explain what this particular switch is for. My initial guess is that it has something to do with fuel tank selection or drop tanks. 


Edited by LukeFF, 27 November 2015 - 19:27.

  • 0

#21 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1910

Posted 27 November 2015 - 19:47

From what I've gathered it's the low fuel warning to switch tanks, (10 litres left).

One light is white, (to show it's the rear tank), you then need to switch to the main tank... when the other light comes on (should be red) that's low fuel warning and time to RTB... 


  • 0

IL2.jpg


#22 Space_Ghost

Space_Ghost
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3292
  • Location:Southern Dakota Territory, United States

Posted 27 November 2015 - 20:04

From what I've gathered it's the low fuel warning to switch tanks, (10 litres left).

One light is white, (to show it's the rear tank), you then need to switch to the main tank... when the other light comes on (should be red) that's low fuel warning and time to RTB... 

 

I don't think that you and I are describing the same thing...

 

The indicator that I am describing is below the turn/bank indicator and above the artificial horizon... It is labeled Links/Rechts and not Vorne/Hinten... There is also no red light that I'm aware of.

 

Umschalt Warnung (rather than Umschaltwarnung) translates to Shift Warning... I agree it has something to do with fuel tank switching... But whether this indicates a change in which tanks are being pumped or whether it indicates the necessity to change which tanks are pumped is still up in the air.


  • 0

"Stop pulling so hard. You don't have to get someone under the gunsight right this second to win the fight." - Go_Pre

6700K @ 4.7GHz - GTX1080 @ 2.1GHz (11000MHz mem clock) - 16GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz - Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) - Dell S2716DG (1440p, G-Sync)

"You need to be a lucky genius to get the FM completely right. And even then Kornezov will always complain." - JG27_Kornezov


#23 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 20:11

Red lights are the low fuel warning these are fuel tank switch warning lights from what I found after a very long search and as you say it indicates which tanks are being pumped from so the lights are off when pumping from the first tanks but when it switches to the wing tanks(?) these lights pop on to let you know it's working.

 

If we get official confirmation that would be great but I also found stuff on a few flight sim forums also talking about other LW aircraft which had this feature....I just didn't bother bookmarking them

 

I think there is a slight spelling error in either our searches or maybe the text in cockpit which makes it harder to find the answer.

 

Cheers


  • 0

#24 Space_Ghost

Space_Ghost
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3292
  • Location:Southern Dakota Territory, United States

Posted 27 November 2015 - 21:30

-snip-

 

I think there is a slight spelling error in either our searches or maybe the text in cockpit which makes it harder to find the answer.

 

-snip-

 

In the cockpit it appears to be a compound word (with my basic knowledge of German that sounds about right...  :lol:) but no, you can't pull up much information without separating the two and translating it from there - Umschaltwarnung=/=Umschalt Warnung=/=Switch Warning


  • 0

"Stop pulling so hard. You don't have to get someone under the gunsight right this second to win the fight." - Go_Pre

6700K @ 4.7GHz - GTX1080 @ 2.1GHz (11000MHz mem clock) - 16GB DDR4 @ 3000MHz - Samsung 950 Pro M.2 (512GB) - Dell S2716DG (1440p, G-Sync)

"You need to be a lucky genius to get the FM completely right. And even then Kornezov will always complain." - JG27_Kornezov


#25 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 27 November 2015 - 21:50

The guys from DeutscheLuffwaffe.de were very quick to respond. Here is what they had to say:

 

These are the two warning lights for power on alert (change from 1 tank to another tank) of the left and right fuel tank.

In the late appliances boards of the Bf 110, these two warning lights were not actually installed.

 

So yep, it's about the fuel tanks.


  • 1

#26 I./ZG1_Panzerbar

I./ZG1_Panzerbar
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1361
  • Location:Festung Stalingrad, Pl.Q.49 613 / 44Ost

Posted 27 November 2015 - 22:46

Clipboard04sdsd_1.jpg


  • 1

ETlXp.png
Messerschmitt Bf110F-2 supporter

"I've got ten friends who'll buy it in two weeks - be sure!" (С)


#27 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 27 November 2015 - 22:51

^And that reference doesn't help at all. 


Edited by LukeFF, 27 November 2015 - 22:52.

  • 0

#28 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 27 November 2015 - 23:57

That's what I said :)

 

Anyway about those engines....which are modeled in game? Was the 601A just a typo?


  • 0

#29 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 28 November 2015 - 06:59

Anyway about those engines....which are modeled in game? Was the 601A just a typo?

 

601A, according to what we were told.


  • 0

#30 FuriousMeow

FuriousMeow
  • Founder
  • Posts: 2788
  • Location:Right meow?

Posted 28 November 2015 - 07:19

601A, according to what we were told.

 

Should be the 601P (601N). Is that from the devs saying its the 601A (601B) or from another source that provided the devs info?


  • 0

I'm a paid shill according to some SimHQ Mensa candidates.


#31 LukeFF

LukeFF
  • Tester
  • Posts: 5055
  • Location:Redlands, California

Posted 28 November 2015 - 09:37

Should be the 601P (601N). Is that from the devs saying its the 601A (601B) or from another source that provided the devs info?

 

It was the developers telling us it has the 601A. I don't know what source(s) they used in their determination to use this particular engine.


  • 0

#32 6./ZG26_Gielow

6./ZG26_Gielow
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1129

Posted 28 November 2015 - 10:42

What about endurance? ?

Anyone has a table how long can we fly with 100, 90, 80, etc, Fuel???
  • 0

#33 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 28 November 2015 - 10:48

601A, according to what we were told.

 

Thanks for clearing that up Luke 


  • 0

#34 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1910

Posted 28 November 2015 - 14:40

I've got pictures of 'N' painted on the engine cowlings of E series 110's... that clearly indicates that at some stage they were being installed.


  • 0

IL2.jpg


#35 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Founder
  • Posts: 1910

Posted 28 November 2015 - 15:02

I also have pictures of E series 110's with an 'A' on the cowling... the caption states that it's unusual to see an E version with a DB 601 A engine fitted. Take from that what you will, but perhaps the developers have decided to give us an 'unusual' version of the aircraft.

 

I do know that in 1940, the D and E series were running off the production lines in tandem, and it's known there was a cross over of parts initially.

Perhaps early E series aircraft were leaving the factory with the DB 601 A engine.

The fact that 'A' and 'N' letters of identification were painted onto cowlings to alert ground crews to the type of fitted engines, shows that both were used.


Edited by Trooper117, 28 November 2015 - 15:04.

  • 0

IL2.jpg


#36 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 28 November 2015 - 15:11

I feel a bit bad to stick this in this thread but since we've started here

 

From one book...and all books can contain mistakes 

 

Attached File  1102.JPG   38.98KB   7 downloads


  • 0

#37 6./ZG26_Emil

6./ZG26_Emil
  • Founder
  • Posts: 3076
  • Location:Northern Monkey

Posted 28 November 2015 - 15:21

I also have pictures of E series 110's with an 'A' on the cowling... the caption states that it's unusual to see an E version with a DB 601 A engine fitted. Take from that what you will, but perhaps the developers have decided to give us an 'unusual' version of the aircraft.

 

I do know that in 1940, the D and E series were running off the production lines in tandem, and it's known there was a cross over of parts initially.

Perhaps early E series aircraft were leaving the factory with the DB 601 A engine.

The fact that 'A' and 'N' letters of identification were painted onto cowlings to alert ground crews to the type of fitted engines, shows that both were used.

 

Yeh from what I understand the E0 and some E1 were being fitted with the 601B (A) but the E-2 was a production version and was intended to be fitted with the 601P. Maybe some E-1s and E-0s with the other engine were reclassified but it seems to be that we should really have the correct engine as intended for this aircraft rather than an unusual version. I wonder if they have data from a captured E0 or E1 model which was fitted with the 601B (A) and treated that as standard. I've looked everywhere and it really seems that our E2 should have the 601P engine but I'm happy to be corrected if wrong. I'll keep searching the books :)

 

p.s nice guide Luke btw....they are very useful


  • 0

#38 andyw248

andyw248
  • Founder
  • Posts: 611
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 28 November 2015 - 20:37

How do I adjust oil and water radiators when I'm operating the two engines separately? Here's what I have tried so far:

  • Added key mappings for engine 1 & 2 throttles, prop pitch increase/decrease, oil and water radiators
  • Hit 0 to switch to two-engine mode
  • Engine start/stop, throttles, and manual prop pitch work separately now
  • Oil and water radiators don't work at all

Thanks for any advice!


  • 0

#39 jcomm

jcomm
  • Member
  • Posts: 1362
  • Location:Nearby LPPT when at Base...

Posted 29 November 2015 - 09:33

Is the autopilot functional, with it's steering controls, in BoS ?


  • 0

Flight Simulation is the virtual materialization of a Dream...

I am Thankful to All of those who make it possible.

 


#40 Matt

Matt
  • Tester
  • Posts: 2463
  • Location:Frankfurt / Germany

Posted 29 November 2015 - 11:29

How do I adjust oil and water radiators when I'm operating the two engines separately? Here's what I have tried so far:

  • Added key mappings for engine 1 & 2 throttles, prop pitch increase/decrease, oil and water radiators
  • Hit 0 to switch to two-engine mode
  • Engine start/stop, throttles, and manual prop pitch work separately now
  • Oil and water radiators don't work at all

Thanks for any advice!

Ýou have to use the oil/water radiator controls that also work for the He 111. They are not the same controls as the controls for most other planes, because those in the 110 work in stages.


  • 0
i5-4670k - GTX 970 - 8GB DDR3 - Windows 10 - VKB Gladiator Pro + Warthog grip - TM Warthog throttle - VKB T-Rudder Mk.IV - PC360 - TrackIR5 - Monster Tech table mounts




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users