Sign in to follow this  
No601_Swallow

Technical (But Probably Obvious) Questions

I've been slowly untangling some of the logic involved in mission building in BoS. Feeling like my brain is a bit too small (I have no experience of mission building in RoF, or of computer programming, so I have to concentrate really hard on this stuff!), I've got a couple of questions.

I've been looking at a group I've pulled from - I think - the "simple mission" (!) posted by SYN_Haashashin here. I think - but I don't know for sure - that this group is designed to activate a flight of Pe-2s when the player's aeroplane is within a certain range (6000m) and deactivate the flight when the player's aeroplane is further than 9000m. This is the group (I've pulled the elements around a bit, to try to make it clearer):

activate%20group_zpssdtgkwnz.jpg

In this picture, I've hidden the green "object lines". They almost all point to the Pe-2s in the top left corner.

Anyway, some questions:

Firstly, do "activate" and "deactivate" mean the same as "spawn" and "despawn" in other sims?

Secondly, I'd like to see if I can explain this. At mission start (1), the game checks (2),if... the player is in the check zone (9000m). It has an object link (green arrow) to the player's aeroplane. Here's the next question - in advanced properties, this trigger has Neutral, Al lies and Axis all set to "False"!  If everything is "false" does the game just check for the player?

Now, if the trigger "fires", it does a few things. Instantly it "activates" the Pe-2s (4b). Also, with a 3-second delay, (5) triggers the waypoint, and with a 4 second delay, it gives the Pe-2s a formation command (6). 

Here's where it gets interesting: After 10 seconds (3a) + 3 seconds (3b), the Check Zone trigger also causes a proximity check (3c) which checks the distance between the player and the Pe-2s. If the distance is greater than 9000m, it fires the Deactive trigger (3d) and the Pe-2s cease to be!