Sign in to follow this  
Valdamar

T-Rudder/FBM by VKB

Comrades,

Some time ago published at the Russian BoS forum two short posts about new VKB products: T-Rudder (pedals) and Fat Black Mamba (joystick). Because of some reasons couldn’t translate them for you earlier, sorry for that.

Several words about VKB itself. It is a small company founded in 2004 by a small group of enthusiasts that designs and produces, in contrast to the major developers, short-run series of high-end quality products for virtual pilots, based on their own controllers, digital contactless sensors, and mechanics. With a life-long warranty, by the way, that’s why I bought Mamba and then T-Rudder :)

So, let me please introduce these first-look newbie’ reviews in English. That first one is about T-Rudder.

First of all, I’m not a pro-virtual pilot, T-Rudder is my first pedals and the idea of this post is just to show the appearance of controllers and some first impressions.

And the second – sorry for my bad language.

T-Rudder:
New pedal are made not as all previous pedals for virtual flights by VKB – pedal bars moves up and down, not forward-backward. That’s how it works in helicopters, nearly the same as car’s pedals. May be it is not very authentic for our WWII fighters, but really comfortable for pilots who has driving license! Oh and by the way it prevents pedals from moving around the floor, especially tiled, during the flight. No needs to craft a special rug or something anymore! :)

Still, this is not a driving pedal – bars move synchronized in opposite directions, when the first goes up, the second goes down. The center is very noticeable; it’s hard to miss the central position in any situations. Anyway it took time for me to learn how to do correct movements around the center. Once again, this is my first rudder, had to get the feel of that new device :)