What are the best dogfight training sessions available?

tednturanski

I'm relatively new to Sturmovik compared to most of you.  I can fly LaGG-3 and Yak-1 quite well.  What is new to me are the combat situations, like dogfights etc.  I'm not quite fast enough on the stick or steady enough on the trigger yet.  Been practicing with LaGG-3 ser29 Flight School which I was directed to in the Steam Guide section associated with Sturmovik.  Had to run the section on dogfight about a dozen times before seeing the "Mission Accomplished" message, so I am below 10% when it comes to battle.  I'm thinking that if I keep trying out different missions, quick missions, and careers that I might get better with time.  If anyone can perceive where I am at in the learning curve and has any suggestions that might be helpful to me at this stage please leave your comments.  One thing I have learned is that this forum is an important key to advancement in the skills needed to enjoy this hobby more fully.  Thank you!   Ted. 

If you really want to super-charge your learning, nothing beats some 1-on-1 tutoring. 

You will find many people willing to offer that, myself included, if you can make 6-10pm gmt. If those times are good, send me a pm, if they are not, send one anyway and I'll find someone in a different timezone for you. 

It can be helpful to know some terms to Google for reading material. Read about the following terms until you understand them well :

Corner speed

Energy fighting 

One circle and two circle fight 

Scissors and rolling scissors

Lead, pure and lag pursuit

Yoyo turns, displacement rolls and other out of plane manoeuvres: learn their purpose, not just how to do them 

Especially if you plan to play multiplayer, focus heavily on situational awareness. If you are making the calls about how the sortie goes, then all your combat losses will be a result of poor SA.