Simple FM discussion

Hello all,

i am pretty sure that this has been discussed before, but i can not find exactly what i want to say.

We all know that the current AI FM uses the same FM we all have. I would like to know what is the major advantage in the current stage. 

We have many drawbacks using this AI FM, developement is extrem slowly and every new patch we got new bugs. As a programmer i know that advanced methods are sexy, but often it leads to a complexity no one understands anymore or it consumes huge resources. 

Wouldn't it be the time to stop development of this AI FM and start doing it better. Many pilots lost its fun with bad AI and crave to old IL2 standards. Year after year we hope to get a AI that sticks to some standards. Seeing the development here is extremly slow and new bugs occure recently is leaving me hopeless. As a single player it is driving me nuts seeing how bad AI is flying comparing the first impressions i had 20 years ago with IL2. 

Flying a campaign is so frustrating. 

- AI is still crashing ground, happens in 1 from 10 missions

- If you are not the leader you have no radio message system, you can not call for help even if you are high ranked

- Radio messages appear endlessly

- AI is very passive, it wont engange properly or it wont help you

- In the current version AI wont hit enemy fighter and shoots long bursts

- AI is only circling, in career i have never seen advanced dog fighting

Please, if the current AI FM is too complex, give us a simple AI FM with all it advantages. After 10 years trying it might be the time to think it over.

• Upvote 3

Hmmm I like the idea of the fighters I'm dogfighting having the exact same FM, but for the bombers and transports I could not care less. So if it helps having massive swarms, I'd much rather have 20 or so C47s to attack than 5 C47s that somehow try to dodge my bullets a tiny bit more accurately than with a simple FM.

• Upvote 3