Hello Aero-experts, 

I am an historian by trade, but I am not an expert (by any stretch of the imagination) an airplane historian, nor do I understand or know all of the technical aspects of airplanes. However, i am curious by one thing. I noticed watching an air show on youtube with my 2 year that some planes have 5, 4 and 3 blades. Can someone explain the advantages and disadvantages/ or the rationale behind different number of blades of an aircraft? 

Thanks in advance

As you may have guessed: the number of blades increased over time. It's due to the increase of engine power over time. For efficiency, less blades is preferable as they influence each other less. Problem is, as I understand it, the engine power will become too much for each blade. So the load from the engine has to be distributed across more blades to avoid having to increase the structural strength of the blades (stronger heavier/more material being needed).

• Like 1

different design philosophies leading to similar outcomes. to extract more power more efficiently from their engines throughout the war (broadly speaking), USA designs used longer blades, German designs used thicker blades, and British designs used more blades.

All three approaches have advantages and disadvantages. You pays your money and takes your choice.

I would guess so - given that USA & UK moved away from wooden blades throughout the war & it seems only Germans persisted with them. Same with wooden tail fins & rudders on later 109s?

Blades interfere with each other, so a smaller number of blades is better. Two is the minimum.

However, you need to make the best use of the engine power. There are a few ways to do this.

1) Make the blades longer

2) Spin the blades faster

3) Make the blades wider

4) Have more blades