Greetings everyone.

A few questions about the IL2 engine management. 

It is said in the aircraft specifications that the boost engages when the mixture is set to 100%. However I noticed that the boost engages when you set the rpm to 100% wether the mixture is a 100% or not. Is there something that escapes me?

The aircraft specs also state that the mixture becomes automatic if the lever is set to 50% but I totally fail to see any difference if I set the mixture to 50% or 75% in the engine behaviors. It doesnt look to me that the mixture will adjust automatically according to altitude, rpm and throttle even its set flush to 50%.

Thanks, and btw Im relatively new to complex engine management, and I actually LOVE it. I have been reading about it a lot and now I decided to go for it. I may have many questions about all the intricacies though! ;)

8 minutes ago, I./JG52_Woutwocampe said:

The aircraft specs also state that the mixture becomes automatic if the lever is set to 50% but I totally fail to see any difference if I set the mixture to 50% or 75% in the engine behaviors.

I don't fly the IL-2 much, and I doubt I've taken one above 3k meters where leaning the mixture out becomes more important. However, I think an automatic mixture is there to keep the engine performance the same at any altitude. The place where it would be most notable would be at higher altitudes where excess fuel would cause a vapor trail and/or excess fuel consumption during a mission. If at low altitudes and using auto-rich setting you shouldn't notice anything, as the engine likes rich mixture there.

• Upvote 1
1 hour ago, cardboard_killer said: