My journey from DCS to IL2

Not sure what sub-forum to post this in so came here:

TLDR:

Over a two week period this Christmas I went on a flight sim journey from full fidelity modern planes to Helicopters then cold war jets and finally to WW2 planes and the amazing content that is IL2.

--

Hey folks, not sure if anyone will find this interesting but I thought I would document the journey I went on over two weeks of annual leave this Christmas.

I have played both DCS and IL2 previously. With DCS I studied the F18 for quite some time and became quite proficient with it.

This time back though I came armed with VR. The quest 2 after update 23 and my quite powerful PC rig has been a turning point for flight sims (for me). I can read everything in the cockpit and the immersion is staggering.

On my first day off from work I got heavily back into DCS and bought the A10C II module for Xmas believing this would consume me for the whole holiday period. I was very wrong!

This module is excellent though, setting your SPI with the HMCS nearly makes everything too easy! I found that I picked up quite a few of the systems much faster than I expected. The base knowledge transfer from the F18 really helped.

For some reason I then fancied having a go at helicopters. I bought the KA50 and thought threw the Huey in the shopping cart on a whim! Once again, I really enjoyed the KA50.

Late one night though I fired up the Huey and I just couldn’t fly the thing for love nor money! That to me then became my first real challenge of the holidays and I was hooked! 

I spent three days doing nothing other than watching instructional youtubes, taking off, transitioning to a hover and landing. Finally, I got the point I could consistently land on helipad in the Huey. One of my big achievement of the holidays was landing the Huey on the hospital roof top helipad in a custom single player mission.