Blender and Autodesk 3DsMAX - general Q

Now i am only a bit familiar with Photoshop CS6 and Premiere for work a while back, as i bought them a few years ago before they turned to the current CC licensing system.

3D modeling. Blender and Autodesk 3DsMAX seem to be the most used tools around. (??)

Any one been using those in relation to IL2 modding?

Blender is freeware like Gimp, but 3Ds Max has such a steep licensing fee that it's just too expensive for just an occasional hobbyist stint with it.

Tips welcome !!

Edited by jollyjack

I started learning Blender in order to make models of hidden items like the guns / engine, etc. so as to make illustrations of the ground crew working on the planes (using screenshots as the basis). It's such a steep learning curve that I'm still thrashing at it but I'm enjoying learning a new skill. I may never get to my original intent but I believe it's time well spent.

That being said, I would not even think about spending the exorbitant cost for 3DsMAX unless I was considering moving to a profession.

I know that some people have made mods and I seem to recall that Jason had asked for people to build minor things like buildings and such a while back but I don't recall what format they needed and it was all subject to approval.

• Thanks 1

3D and buildings: I got curious about the building blocks that are in the Moscow City no fly zone, since EffeDB's new 4.503 mod.

They are in there as Grounds, b11.mgm, b12.mgm and up. Tried getting them in Blender, but have to know a little more about 3D stuff and vector drawing first i guess.

-------

PS What i still don't get is why the IL2 company does not see the potential of an improved ME. Even if you have to pay extra for it; as i would.

Mission making is already far above any other sim-game IMO and something i really appreciate though.

The potential powers for ME map editing, even making, could IMO create a lot more interest in GB.