Helping a friend learn the sim - seeking advice on Stalingrad aircraft selection.

Greetings!

I convinced a good friend of mine who was on the fence to dive in to the Great Battles series. He's got a very limited budget, I told him about the sale going on, and he's going to start off with Stalingrad as base and move along from there.

I offered to help him get up to speed and convinced him full realism right off the bat is the way to go - he's on board.

Both he (and I) have limited time, so I submit to you, the community: what do you feel is the easiest aircraft specifically in the Stalingrad Standard Edition for him to learn on? I've asked him if he has a preference, he's open to anything.

I have some experience with the Yak-1 Series 69, and it seems much easier than the P-40 I first learned on. Those are the only real fighter aircraft I've spent any time with so far (the P-40 the majority of flight hours, and that probably doesn't help us with his limited plane set selection to choose from). I learned on the U-2VS initially when I got into this, but he doesn't have that luxury.

Some additional information that might help you, help us:

1. His peripherals are limited. He's at least got a flight stick, it *might* be a HOTAS, but I'm not counting on it. He does not have rudder pedals. Whether that is worth considering in this, not sure...
  2. I believe at this point he's more keen on attacking ground targets; however, I think a fighter aircraft of some kind might be ideal so we can cover each other. I intend for him to join me online as soon as possible (so keep an eye in the skies for fresh meat).

Anyway, I'd definitely welcome the feedback - I think I'll be able to get some decent seat time in this weekend, and I'd love to get a feel for the aircraft I'm going to help him learn on. I simply can't decide...

Thanks,

-Groove

• Upvote 1