2600palle

CONTROLS DONT WORK HE 111

hello pilots, im very new to IL2. 

first my joystick and stuff are set up to spitfires and bf109 and it works fine . 

but now i wanna learn how to fly the He 111 bomber , but it wont allow me to switch to gunner ore everything. i have watched many videos on youtube and they just press c ore ALT1-2-3-4-5-6 

it dosent work for me even that my controls are (basic standard) and i have searched and searched for an answer i hope someone have the time and paitience to help me out with this . 

have a nice day everyone. 

Posted (edited)

So, firstly I am assuming you mean the 111 in cliffs of dover.

The controls you set (position#1,#2 etc) are contained in the controls menu under "Views" i think.  You may need to rebind them as some keyboards look different to the game than others (one of my keys for instance is seen as OEM102 rather than Ctrl).  Once you are happy that the key combination you have chosen is working, you need to first save the profile and then apply it using the buttons on the lower right of the screen.

You will also need to bind a key to take control of the gun with the mouse (F10 by default i think) if yu are not usng the mouse to look around already and also to lean to the gunsight (same command as in th fighters). If you switch back to pilot remember to disengage F10 unless you use the mouse to look around. With the 111 and blenheim you will also have to bind keys to move the mountng up/down/left/right (not the gun, the mounting). Thats very clunky at present sadly.  If fact the 111 turret system is all very clunky TBH. Unlike the 110s there is no relod annimation so its also a caseof hitting relaod and pressing the fire button until it starts to fire again. I really hope a better solution has been found for thr FN turrets in the upcomming Wellington.