Sign in to follow this  
MattS

Effectiveness of Armored Windshields

Just had a German 7.9mm machine gun wound me severely through the armored glass windscreen of the P-47...from 350m away.

Plausible?

I'm not a ballistics expert, but my gut feeling--as I'm sure yours is telling you--is a solid 'no.'

From that extreme range the bullets shouldn't even be penetrating your plane's skin, much less heavy glass.

I've seen the game render ineffectual strikes on the skin from extreme range (as in, I see and hear the flash of a bullet hitting me, but there's no hole or damage when I watch the clip later); so I'm not quite sure what to make of your scenario.

• Confused 1

Posted (edited)

Yes, plausible.  At that range an MG34 round could penetrate ~10mm of armoured plate (0 deg angle).  If you were closing on your target at any margin of speed then the penetration would be increased.  Bulletproof glass is designed to stop the first round but after that it drastically loses effectiveness.  So quite likely you were hit with multiple rounds and your armoured glass integrity was reduced.

Or let me put it another way, the armoured glass did it's job.  If there was no armoured windscreen there you wouldn't be here to tell the tale. :)

Sorry oc2209, A planes thin aluminium skin would not stop a 7.92mm round at that range.  The Mg34 7.92mm round would penetrate 7.5mm of armour at 500m let alone light aircraft skin.

https://panzerworld.com/armor-penetration-table

EDIT:  It was also possible the round did not penetrate but if spalling is modelled then maybe your virtual wounds were caused by the armoured glass spalling from the bullet impact?

Aluminium_plate_spalling.gif

Edited by ICDP
  • Upvote 2

2 hours ago, oc2209 said:

From that extreme range the bullets shouldn't even be penetrating your plane's skin, much less heavy glass.

2 hours ago, oc2209 said:

I'm not a ballistics expert

This is so true

• Haha 1