OneGunnerUnder

Is the C-47 and B-17 flyable in the vanilla version?

So my goal is to use the mission builder to simulate bringing large aircraft such as the C-47 or B-17 to taxi, takeoff, and land at the same airstrip.

So far, I'm unable to spawn inside the aircraft. I can fly other aircraft fine (such as the A20 or TB-3).

Is it possible to fly the C-47 or B-17 without mods? I'm new to the game and still figuring things out.

On ‎5‎/‎15‎/‎2020 at 9:48 PM, OneGunnerUnder said:

So my goal is to use the mission builder to simulate bringing large aircraft such as the C-47 or B-17 to taxi, takeoff, and land at the same airstrip.

So far, I'm unable to spawn inside the aircraft. I can fly other aircraft fine (such as the A20 or TB-3).

Is it possible to fly the C-47 or B-17 without mods? I'm new to the game and still figuring things out.

No - but "stock" IL2 46 4.14 does have a flyable B-24.....

...and there are plans to add the C-47 in the next Team Daidalos patch (if/when it comes out).

The B-24 is like a slightly lower altitude but more maneuverable (and different in all other ways) B-17... but, the point is that it was equally important to the 8th Airforce in Europe as a strategic heavy bomber... even if they didn't make a movie about one!

On 5/19/2020 at 12:54 PM, gn728 said:

No - but "stock" IL2 46 4.14 does have a flyable B-24.....

Actually since posting this, I wound up spending a bunch of time in the B-24 and the TB-3. I've been trying to get a better feel for using the radiator as well as the supercharger (for the B-24, that is).

20 hours ago, Avimimus said:

...and there are plans to add the C-47 in the next Team Daidalos patch (if/when it comes out).

That is exciting news! I look forward to it.

Posted (edited)