[Mod] Stalingrad Tex Mod

Hi All,

I've been flying the IL2 series since Forgotten Battles and made quite a few mapmods for ol' 1946 - had a long break from modding but just came back to it. Been experimenting for several weeks with a couple of maps but I'm no expert yet!

No criticism intended since I obviously love this series..but the landscapes have always been somewhat bland. I sometimes just like flying around in planes of this era so a more convincing world can only improve enjoyment.

This mod is an attempt to make the Stalingrad Summer map more realistic and 'alive'. I have swapped out and edited trees and riverbanks by mix-matching from other maps (is this ok?). I have altered and cut-in transitions where possible on city textures and otherwise edited some 200 files. Having done a lot of flying/gliding in RL I have a sense of what the ground looks like overall so have tried to add diversity, and bring out the detail in vegetation for a more natural and 'grittier' look. It's also a bit 'greener' which I believe is accurate. It works for me - looks great in vr too! Should mention I don't use Reshade or the like..I may mess with it a bit more but I'm quite happy with it as it stands for now.

JSGME ready, link below (if anything isn't 'kosher' I'm sure someone will let me know!)

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ecxivvmxlphrizu/Stalingrad_Tex_Mod.7z/file

stal12.jpg

stal15.jpg

stal7.jpg

• Like 11
  • Thanks 3
  • Upvote 7

Hi,

well, your mod is nice, although historical and topographically not correct, I think. Don't take me wrong, for sure your work is appreciated, but

in fact the Stalingrad area was a little bit bland at the time, because it was the steppe landscape. So apart from small villages and hamlets

there was nothing - not even paved roads but only dirt roads.

Cheers

• Like 1
  • Confused 1
  • Upvote 2