Sign in to follow this  
VBF-12_Pequod

My Flying Circus Vol. I Impressions

Posted (edited)

First of all I want to say that I am totally new to WW1 aviation world. I could recognize the DR1, the Albatross ... and that's it. Thanks to Stormbirds blog and some WWI movies the bug for these colorful aircraft began to bite me. I had many doubts, especially for the steep price. To be honest I was afraid that FC wouldn't be my thing and the idea of a 80$ product gathering dust in my virtual library wasn't ideal.

Then bender-Sch27b sent me a gift out of the blue. I couldn't believe it. This community surely is like no other. Thanks again, bender-Sch27b.

I watched some tutorials, downloaded and installed Kaiserlacht campagin, and started my journey to WW1.

Somehow, I was afraid that FC was a pack of airplanes shoehorned into a WW2 simulator, but soon my fears disappeared: after starting the campaign, I experienced a new and pleasant feeling. You can almost feel the wind in your face, and keeping formation in silence (no radios obviously)  while you approach the NML is difficult to describe. The fighting is lots of fun, and although they are slower planes, everything happens at a frantic pace because of the tight maneuvers.

As with all titles in Great Battles series, graphics are sublime. Aircraft textures look amazing, and Arras map is beautiful. I heard some complaints about the map being small and sterile, but considering we're talking about WW1 airplanes (slower than WW2 aircraft) Arras map is large enough IMHO. Maybe Kuban is more eye candy (due to the variety of the map with sea and mountains) but make no mistake: Arras is simply great, and the transition from the green French fields to NML desolated landscape is very immersive. I could see explosions over allied trenches and thought: "poor infantry." About SP content, I am sure that mission makers will eventually create amazing missions and campaigns like Kaiserlacht.