Sign in to follow this  
Smeggles

GIMP Newbie: No option to add Alpha 1 channel layer mask on skin. What do?

Posted (edited)

Sorry I am new to Gimp / Photoshop, and don't know what I'm doing very well, but I could use your help.

I am attempting to edit the LA5FN Series 2 public skin from the public skins thread on the stickey. 

In many of the other skins the last steps I do after painting them are Flatten image, then Layer>add Transparency> select "mask" then "add layer mask", which brings up a dialog "initialize layer mask on", then I choose "Other" and am supposed to select "alpha channel" from the dropdown.  this is supposed to give me a nice glossy coat on my new skin.  And it has so far on all the ones i've edited.  I am able to do everything except the last part, because "Alpha 1 channel" is not selectable in the dropdown (nor is anything else) like on the other skins I have tried so far.  (if you have time and gimp you can try it on the skin yourself, maybe you can see what I mean)

This skin which is giving me problems does have an alpha channel, but I take it this is not the same thing as adding an alpha channel to the ship's mask  Is there an easy way to fix this?

I've managed to figure out a lot of things on my own so far but how to get it to allow me to make an alpha channel layer mask, is stumping me.

Edited by Smeggles

Answering my own question in case anybody else runs into the problem:

Select channels tab, right click new, name it anything really (let's go with Alpha 1 since that's what everyone else does).  Then you'll need to right click on your new Alpha 1 channel then "edit channel attributes" set the opacity (I went with 55 because that's what the other skins I use use), then set the color (i went with typing in the HTML notation ff0000 since that's what the others use).