Sign in to follow this  
maxs

Flying the IL2 in career mode - rear gunners?

Posted (edited)

Hey all! Newbie here :)

I've been playing with Career mode (loving the features so far!) - one item I am getting hung up on is how the AI selects load outs.

I'm flying a Jr. officer, so I'm not messing with loadouts for the team - I'm noticing that the AI commander *never* selects the turret gunner variant of the IL2 for the squadron to fly. So far I haven't been super impressed with the AI, which leads to our planes flying in formation straight towards the target and taking turns getting pummeled by AI fighter cover - friendly fighter cover don't seem to be much of a help in fending off enemy AI, so it feels like we're left defenseless. 

I feel like turret gunners would at least help provide some defense in these situations - is there any historical reason why these wouldn't be used? Does it depend on which squadron I pick in career? Is the only solution here to just take over the squadron and assign my own load outs?

(sidenote: are there any AI improvement mods out there?)

Edited by maxs

Well, If you're flying the 1941 model, I don't think you can get a gunner.  If you're flying a '42, you might have to balance between ordinance loadout and gunner.  A fully loaded '42 with a gunner is very heavy and will probably require more time on target due to having to extend out farther on each pass to turn back more gently.  So, it's either lighten the loadout and take the gunner or take all the bombs you can and leave the gunner.  

If you're flying the '43 then the gunner is default but, you may notice that the ordinance configurations are also "trimmed back" slightly to account for the extra weight of the gunner and other beefed-up armor and construction that came with it.  On the upside, the '43's engine can be run nominally with a slightly higher manifold pressure, meaning a bit more power to work with.