Sign in to follow this  
J2_Trupobaw

Wire hiss nausea

Hey,
With upgrade that introduced Albatros there came a "wire hiss" sound in biplanes with wire braced wings. Some people claim to not notice it, to most, it's harmless. Unfortunately, I am oversensitive to it and it causes headache, nausea, irritation, problems concentrating etc. I have verified (by switching between D.Va and D.VIIF and back) that my problem comes and goes with constant hiss. It pretty much prevents me from flying some of my most favourite WW1 planes; there is no pleasure in it and no point to do it.

I'd like to know if there are more people affected in similar way. I'm pretty sure devs won't bother with adding option to disable it if only one customer suffers from this :)

I'm also looking for ways to eliminate the hissing sound on my end. I have no experience with mixing or filtering sounds, and what I want is to eliminate the hisses while leaving other sounds unaffected. Can this be done with basic Windows 7 equaliser, and how? Are you familiar with better programs that would stay in background and let me filter  unwanted frequencies? Any ideas which frequencies to look at? I know that it's possible to make two sounds cancel each other and it's used in active noice cancelling  (waves of correcting sound are negatives of sound you want to cancel so they add to 0) - is it plausible to extract the hissing sound from the game, make its negative and just play it in a loop via winamp? Or are there simpler solutions?

• Thanks 1

I'm not sure if the Windows 7 equalizer would do the trick or even if there are channels enough for you to isolate the sound (both in the motherboard or in the game). To work with an equalizer, better to buy a cheap sound card. Creative has a good cost benefit, and depending on your motherboard, you will see a great improvement, event to listen to music or watch movies (if your headphones are on par with a sound card).