stupor-mundi

Is physiology a bit overdone?

As a bit of context, I've not used a flight sim other than Il-2 in some years now. I've used various older sims which had, maybe badly modeled, physiology. I've got no IRL experience with flight physiology.

There was a F18 sim in the 90s which had physiology, much faster planes, and wayyy harder to actually pass out. This makes me wonder: is that mainly the effect of the better G suits which no doubt an F18 pilot has, or is the Il-2 physiology somewhat too extreme.

In particular, when I use the faster, Bodenplatte planes, in my usual, boom-and-zoom kind of way, there is this moment where I've lined up behind my victim, that plane breaks hard, right or left, which means that at the last moment I have to pull hard a little in order to execute that deflection shot. We're talking a fraction of a second, between 1/4 to 1/2 a second.

Where, before that little pull, vision was still normal, not greyscale yet.

This maneuver now tends to make the pilot pass out, for like 10 or more seconds, and it seems to me a bit extreme. Even if those are the Gs which would make a pilot pass out, *when continued for a number of seconds*, I struggle to see how the interruption of the oxygen supply for a fraction of a second would have this extreme effect.

The physiology effects are based on hard data from three different contemporary sources. If it 'feels' wrong, then it's probably because we have limited experience carting round the sky in ww2 warbirds. 

About your 'little pull', if you're blacking out for 10+ seconds in game, your pull was not little. 

A large factor is also not only how many g's are applied, but also the rate at which they are applied. Smoothly pulling 5 g's will enable you to stay conscious for much longer than an instant 'twitch' application of 5 g's.