361st_Cooper*

FW-190 Help!

I'm pretty new to dogfighting in general (I usually do close air support in the jug or the il2) and I have wanted to get into dogfighting, I've really liked the feel of the 190 series but stall out constantly, any tips on how to dogfight in the 190 series?

Stay fast use boost when you need it, try not to turn but pop flaps if you go below 250kph. Between 2000-3000m and above 6000m you have worse performance in A models.  Try to dive on opponents and use your speed to stay safe and reposition after attacks. You turn well over 400kph, below that you should run if you can. You have amazing roll to use in dive attacks and when you are under attack.

Edited by Hajo_Garlic
  • Upvote 1

The 190's roll rate is one of the best of the war.  It's a bit diminished with the Dora due to wider wingspan, but still not bad.  Be careful not to lose speed.  It can be a bit hard to build up.  The 190 is kind of like the Hulk Hogan of airplanes.  It's a bit slow to get up to speed, but once you get it "fired up" it's a steamroller.  Dogfighting with it can be quite fun, but the best way to fly it - or any capable plane, for that matter - is as an assassin.  Hit and run before they even knew you were onto them.  Usually, if the first attack doesn't take them down, it's still enough to cause them to crawl off and die soon after.  If you get solid hits, don't re-engage.  Instead, reset and make sure no one else is after you.  Chances are, the enemy has only a few minutes left to bail out or go down with his plane.   

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

6 minutes ago, Mobile_BBQ said: