Eisenfaustus

Timeframe for a BoN carreer?

With the planes announced and the map aimed for I guess an appropriate timeframe would start in February 1944 and end in August of the same year...

But with the planes we have from the other modules and collector planes a much bigger timeframe could be realized.

On the fighter front I think we could start in 1941 - Spit V and Hurry II vs 109 E7 and F seem fair enough. But for that we'd lack a British medium bomber to lean into France. While the RAF used Bostons in 1941 I guess it was a diffrent version from what we have in game.

Since I'm no expert on American bombers and especially their use in the RAF - with all the planes we'll have at the end of BoN - when could a channel carreer start?

• Upvote 2

I'd assume that the official in-game career for the Normandy expansion won't involve flying anything other than the aircraft included in it.  If you want to fly Spit Vs, Hurricane IIs and the earlier 109s and 190s, you'll probably have to go with whatever the community comes up with.

• Upvote 2

Yes, I would agree with what Andy says - doubtful they will at least initially do anything campaign wise that isn't specific for the plane set released with BON. You will have to look towards Patrick Wilson for any sort of more creative fiddling and earlier campaign constructions (which you should be anyway because PWCG rocks!).

However, I firmly believe that the developers in time will be doing smaller plane packages with campaigns utilizing the maps (it makes a lot of sense) in the long run - we will have to see.

• Like 1

4/44 to end of 8/44 would be my best bet. Depends on the precise map though. Seine crossing was 19th August, Paris was liberated 25th August, Amiens was liberated 31st August. Brussels was liberated 3rd September, Market Garden started 17th September.

Edited by sevenless