Sign in to follow this  
361st_Porkie-

is VR better than a 1440 monitor

not long ago i upgraded my pc to 

i9 900k

RTX 2080Ti

32 DDR4 RAM

its my monitor 34UC89G its 1080p, i really love that its 34"@144MHz and if i get 1440p or better it has to be 34". at the price of the monitor i want, i could easily afford the valve index and still save some money. i see good and bad about VR in forums, not to mention i'm really confused as to what VR setup is best.

on my system what can i expect performance wise... high FPS and bad graphics, high FPS, decent graphics with stutters and drops in FPS every so often...?

if i'm going VR, it might as well be best.

thanks for your feedback.

Two totally different things.

No one really knows how they will like VR until they try it.

I have been doing VR since Jan 2017 and not used a monitor since.

Most folks that try it stay with it, but there are a few out there that just did not like it.

• Like 1

I have an ultra wide 34" with 1440, a 4K TV 65", and a Pimax5K+. Out of these three, I prefer the VR headset. I got a Pimax8KX on pre-order.

If you go VR, the Index is a very user friendly product. But if you like to fiddle around with the Hardware a lot, and haven't fallen on your head in regards to tech savvy-ness, the Pimax Vision series are the best headsets for both picture quality and immersion. They cost more though. If you want to go VR, you might as well get a Pimax 8K+ with Deluxe Audio (or 8KX if you wait until march) from pimax.com, 2 Valve Basestations 2.0 from Steam store, and 2 Valve Index Controllers from Steam store. That's the best combination money can buy.

My VR HMD is gathering dust , I prefer playing on my 34 inches monitor @3440x1440. Immersion and aiming  is really great in VR but I prefer sharp graphics in Il2. Someday with high def VR I will switch to VR.