chris455

VR headsets- need opinions

I have no experience with VR, but have been looking forward to this for many years. Getting a new PC and want to include VR for flight sims. IL2 BoX, DCS, Prepar3d. I am asking those with actual experience to weigh in and guide my purchase. You may assume the PC can handle any hardware.

Thank you in advance!

I own Rift S, before had Rift cv1 so my conclusion from those two; in flight sims it doesn't matter is VR headset wireless or having tracking sensors separated from headset.

Tracking stability, comfort, FoV, resolution is what are you looking for...while it can run pretty good on available pc hardware.

Rift S is good, haven't tried Pimax 5k/8k or other brands so i can't say go for Rift S as others may be better.

Downsides of Rift S;

-not comfy

-no headphones

-chunky tracking, not terrible but was more stable on CV1.

Pros;

-nice clarity and resolution

I find the lack of phones a bonus ;)

in my first rift I hadda keep one ear off so I could keep my peripheral hearing.

I also don't find it uncomfy!

perhaps my faceshape is odd?

Lots of good info in this section:

https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/forum/109-virtual-reality-and-vr-controllers/

I am also in the market.  I am thinking HP reverb for the clarity.  Index has the best FoV but is very expensive.  Rift S costs less than HP or Index or Pimax.  Not sure what the Pimax claim to fame is.  

There is no perfect set yet at any price.  They are all tradeoffs.  I do a lot of "this vs that" searches.  Have to take the info with a grain of salt but if you read enough you start to get an idea of the tradeoffs.

4 minutes ago, OrLoK said:

I find the lack of phones a bonus ;)

in my first rift I hadda keep one ear off so I could keep my peripheral hearing.

I also don't find it uncomfy!

perhaps my faceshape is odd?

Well i was comparing it with cv1.

CV1 was lighter and more open (don't like that plastic aureola around head).