Sign in to follow this  
SCGSalty64

On the Comparison between Flight Sims and Racing Sims

I have flown primarily flight simulators for quite awhile, at least 20 years. These include GA and combat flight simulators. About two months ago I started to try racing simulators. I am a beginner, having never tried a racing simulator before. I acquired a entry level Thrustmaster T150 force feedback wheel with pedals. I started with Assetto Corsa, then I bought Project Cars 2 and recently purchased Assetto Corsa Competizione. It has been a steep learning curve and in two months I have practiced lapping and racing various tracks with various kinds of cars. In this time I have observed some simularities between racing sims and flight sims, that being, in both your attention must be focused intently whether driving a car at close to 250 kph, bunched up with other equally aggressive cars and drivers, or in a combat sim dogfighting other fighters who are piloted by equally determined and aggressive pilots who want to destroy you. The skill sets are different of course but require a lot of effort to acquire. I've watched more than a few youtube videos of people driving various tracks with various cars. Now what I have observed is more in the realm of the software and hardware developer that supports the racing sim industry versus the software and hardware developer that supports the flight sim industry. First, there are a lot more racing games available to play than flight sims. I have mentioned three but there are a number more. Now my purpose is not to critique either racing sims or flight sims. I will say that I think because of the nature of flights sims and the need to have realistic topography to fly over, that it's probably more complex to develop but I don't really know. The racing sims that I have tried utilize laser scanned tracks and they have replicated them to a high order in the sim world. Their cars are also very highly modeled. One major observational difference I