Johnhil06

Dogfighting with the P-38

Hello chaps, 

im new to the sim, and pretty interested to master the P-38 in dogfight.

i know for a fact that the plane in the hands of good pilots could be very effective, as it allowed many aces to be born.

So my question is this : What are your techniques to master the P-38 ?

Think of it as a back to debrief pilot chat, no need to BS me with useless info and technical nonsense out of context please, im a real life FI, just need to go straight to point.

For what i saw, P-38 is not very popular on online servers (my actual ratio is approx. 1kill to 10 for the jerries) and i saw that in many occasions :

my P-38 is :

* Outpowered in turn radius by 109s and 190s

* Outpowered in climb rate by 109s and 190s (its a darn multi-engine A/C for f*cks sakes, am i missing something ??)

* Outpowered in level flight by 109s and 190s

the only poor technique i found to dogfight online was to lick the ground under the dogfighting zone, pick one lost Me-109 and shoot it down if i dont overshoot it.

I began to read the two P-38 manuals online but it seems there is no real dogfighting advices on them.

So my questions to the P-38 guys here

Would you guys prefer to bring the ennemy at low altitude in a horizontal turn fight ?

Would you guys prefer to bring the enemy in a vertical fight ?

For what reason ?

is it me or the Me109 seems two much overpowered  ?

What are your references to fly the P-38 videos, manuals, that work ?

i want to improve my ratio with combat proven techniques, i read enough manuals all day long to do it again once at home, so just looking for simple and legit advices.

i know im heavier but its a darn turbocharged twin engine aircraft... dammit...