Sign in to follow this  
J3Hetzer

Playing with this idea, VR pilots only.

I ran an overnight listen-server last night (on my personal PC, not dedicated etc) and it was fine at eight players (the most I saw before I left it running and went to bed, it was still running fine this morning). It was set for 20 v 20, no idea how close it got to that.

The Combat Box (WW2) was bought as a group effort (I donated £30 to it) and the guy runs it from his home with 30 v 30 on the same conn as mine. So I'm thinking of a similar setup but for VR players only, pass-worded. I was a PC tech for 12 years and know how to build my own rigs etc. So we would need a cheap case, then a good mobo, CPU, cooler, PSU, RAM (32 gigs), budget GPU (it doesn't have to play the game), SSDs, Win10, copy of FC (I have a spare copy of Stalingrad). I already have a spare monitor & cheap mouse & keyboard. I would have it running 24/7 and start with using Syn Vander's mission generator (used them last night, pukka sandbox stuff). It would be mission oriented (not a dog-fight server), expert mode mostly (far vision, nav markers maybe). UK based.

I know we're very niche (WW1) and then VR-only yet more niche but I thought I'd float the idea and see the response.

If you ever want info/details about Combat Box I'm happy to share. At the moment we're on a home fibre connection that is rated for 150/150 megabits, and that (I think) is the limiting factor on player counts. 64 players uses maybe a maximum of 30 megabits, so we're not near the limit of the connection, but since it's a home connection rather than a dedicated business connection, I think we run into latency issues quicker than bandwidth issues.

With an 8600K we easily support 64 players with (depending on map and exact activity) about 10-12ms tick time. 20ms is a hard limit, and you can get up to about 15 or 16ms with no ill effects, so a slightly slower CPU is also viable. RAM is important, all the rest of the stuff is inconsequential.