Sign in to follow this  
Death1111

High ping issues, basically cannot play MP anymore

Hi Everyone

I am having issues with having a high ping for most servers in MP, particularly Wings of Liberty and also DED. I live in Brisbane, Australia- is my geographical location having anything to do with it?

I just moved into a new house, the NBN has not rolled out to my suburb yet (Australia is 3rd world for internet) and I had a choice between ADSL or wireless broadband 4G that connects to the mobile 4G network and allows 12mbps. Where I previously lived in Brisbane I had ADSL and averaged around 9mbps and I did not have any ping issues, at my new place I am averaging around 6mbps. I understand that ping is not directly related to mbps but I am including this information in case (I am not very tech savvy). I have a decent PC rig.

I wish I could get this sorted as I basically cannot play MP now. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

You don't say if you took the ADSL or the wireless broadband 4G option.

If you are connecting via 4G, you will have a terrible ping in addition to the Australia factor.

If you are connecting via ADSL, even at 128k, that should be enough to join servers that aren't full and perhaps even busier servers. It is likely your ADSL speed will be higher than this.

7 hours ago, Death1111 said:
3 hours ago, [DBS]Browning said:

You don't say if you took the ADSL or the wireless broadband 4G option.

If you are connecting via 4G, you will have a terrible ping in addition to the Australia factor.

If you are connecting via ADSL, even at 128k, that should be enough to join servers that aren't full and perhaps even busier servers. It is likely your ADSL speed will be higher than this.

Sorry I forgot to mention that I took the 4G option, I think I will have ADSL connected and try my luck with that