Sign in to follow this  
Jorge_S

Getting beaten by AI I-16

This game can be frustrating...

I am playing a quick 1-vs-1 mission, BF-109F2 against a veteran AI I-16, same altitude, no advantages, and I am getting soundly defeated by Veteran AI

turning fight is a no-no because I-16 will out turn me, but then I was surprised to see I-16 can also climb faster

that leaves only speed, F2 is faster, but bleeds speed quickly, I don't want to run away or do head shot passes, and  I am not that good at spotting (playing without markers) so I can't go too far away from him as then I will lose him

any advice?

Edited by Jorge_S

Well first thing to do is when you make your attack passes on him, change your stabilizer to around -40% or -45%.

But it sounds like you're having a hard time getting to that point even.  Instead of using your best climb speed, you have the option of doing a fast climb.  So sacrifice some climb to increase speed and gain separation that way.  The I-16 cannot follow.  Once you have enough horizontal separation, you can go into a steeper climb while he's still trying to keep up.

thanks, I will try that

from time to time I had been able to do attack passes or start with altitude advantage, but it is really hard to hit (omniscient) AI, you can't surprise it, and usually he would head shot pass, then start turning

in a F4 I would try to catch him by following in theturn, for as long as I am fast then zoom out and climb, but F2 bleeds speed rather quickly