Sign in to follow this  
WallysWorld

New build - options please?

Posted (edited)

Since I don't post here much, I am hoping that asking for opinions on new desktop builds are allowed.

Having had my i7-920 system since last 2009, I've been saving up money for the past two years and I'm ready to get a new machine. I've picked out the parts after reading quite a lot on specs and hope I have it right. I have the money so I am willing to spend more on this new system now and not have to upgrade anything for a long time.

My i7-920 system plays IL2 great with almost everything cranked right up, but I wanted a new system to play the latest games like the newest Total War games at Ultra settings.

Going from an i7-920 (@ 4Ghz) with a GTX 970 to these specs:

Cooler Master MasterCase H500M E-ATX Gaming Case, Iron Grey w/ Tempered Glass Window with extra fan on top: Arctic Cooling ARCTIC F14 PWM PST 140mm PWM Fan, Black

Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 850 Modular Power Supply, 80+ Gold, 850W

Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER w/ DDR4, 7.1 Audio, Dual M.2, Gigabit LAN

Intel Core™ i9-9900K Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 16MB Cache with Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler  ( I read that the NH-D15 is just as good as AIO coolers)

Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 16GB DDR4 3200MHz Dual Channel Kit (2x 8GB)

Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 PCI-E x4 SSD, 500GB ( Windows drive)

Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 PCI-E x4 SSD, 1TB

Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8GB PCI-E w/ HDMI, Triple DP, USB-C

Microsoft Windows 10 Home (64 bit) OEM

I’m also adding two more SSD’s (930 GB and 480 GB) from my current i7-920 system to this new system.

I read that 16 GB of RAM is plenty for gaming and that 32 GB of RAM is not needed unless for some specific graphic programs for work.

I also decided to go with a RTX 2070 Super instead of a RTX 2080 as I'm using a 1080p 60 Hz monitor with new plans to go to 1440p or 144 Hz for a while.

Any opinions are most welcome and I thank you.

Edited by WallysWorld
  • Upvote 1