Beebop

Frustration and Disappointment

I hope this is in the right place.  If not move or delete it.

Background:
Previously I have spent 18 years flying IL-2 Forgotten Battles/1946 and now am moving to what appears to be it's successor.
I'm just learning the game and trying to improve my skills.
What I have:

Non Steam version of the game.

Modules:
BoS
BoM
BoK

(all Standard Editions)
plus
P-40E
Po-2
Ju-52
Spitfire Vb

Here's the problem: 

I found this great strafing tutorial on YouTube:

The description includes the mission file for practicing in game.
I went to the link and d/l'ed all nine files and, as there were no installation instructions) placed them in data > Missions.  I started the game, saw the file name, clicked it then clicked 'Start'.  The screen went blank for a second the returned to the mission menu.  Mission didn't load at all.
A friend said "they need to be in a folder".  I made a folder, named it, placed the nine files inside it and placed the folder in data > Missions.  I deleted the free standing files in missions so there would be no possible conflict.
Again I started the game, selected the folder name but, as like with other missions, no mission appeared in a dropdown box.  Hit 'Start' anyway and same result as before.
Thinking that my mods might be a problem I turned them off and re-tried both of the above with the same results, no mission start.

I read through the forums and found a post about re-saving missions.  I have read that various updates have broken missions but re-saving them usually brought them back.  Thinking that this was almost certainly made before the latest update I opened the Mission Editor (a real beast to me even though I am a prolific mission builder in 1946), and following the post instructions click Tools and selected Resave All Missions in Folder.  I clicked that and navigated to my downloaded training mission folder and click OK.