Picchio

In progress - Folgore's cockpit

Posted (edited)

This time, I will also share my thoughts.
I am not a professional artist of any kind: through my first trials-and-errors, I've soon understood that this kind of work can be approached in at least two different ways.

1) To do everything from scratch.
2) To work directly on the material that is available.

1) Has the advantage that I will not have to worry about preserving the image, but I will need to be careful in matching the 3D geometry as best as I can.

Without a wireframe layer this is highly difficult, so the original texture map will have to be constantly used as a reference in order to understand how it matches the 3D geometry.

The main disadvantage is the loss of what I will call the "pre-baked" shading.

2) Could be seen an attempt that shares some analogies with restoration: the default texture will be used as a base and the principle of this approach must be simple.

How will I decide what is a defect that requires corrections and what is not?

Color noise will be considered a defect; weathering effects will also be considered a defect, with some exceptions (I will elaborate on them as the work proceeds).

I will also express my thoughts regarding the work I have in front of me, both the original and the modified, and how it "performs".

In the first part of the intervention, I will focus on restoring some weathered elements.

The strategy here goes like this: to keep the weathering when possible and when it makes sense; to remove and redraw rivets/connections, using what I produced for some of my earlier tests.

The original representation of the structure lacks more than a few details, and those that are present seem incorrect (structural nodes, number and position of various connectors...).

More observations: it is useless to paint the bottom of the first (at the top) horizontal element, as it is not visible from any angle.