Ah_dammit

Just got 1946, how to mod?

Hi guys,

Old guy, totally new to sims / games and no experience of computer programming.

I've got 1946 from GOG, so far  so good.

This is what doCapture.JPG.8b03ea4dbe920d4ed7d80f2fd717434f.JPGwnloaded-

I'm not sure why I have so many copies?

How do I open the setup folders, I can't seem to find the correct location?

I'd like to mod the game as I've read on the forum (VP patch)

I made a copy of the GOG Galaxy file.

Do I apply the patch to this or to the "game" folder or the" Sturmovik 1946 "folder within there?

Sorry for the probably dumb questions but I've never done anything like this before.

Mockery and advice welcome

John

when you start the game, which version will show you? 4.09 or 4.134?

Question to the other members that reacted and interesting for the TS too: , is BAT so much better as VP regarding graphics, maps and number of planes that it is worth to install that too or instead. And can you "merge" both later or does it requires a fresh install ? 

I had not had seen the videos, so thanks, I will watch the BAT one. . Someone here gave me some links but I think not everything was still up to date. At GOG you download the game and they had more files as back-up/extras, that are next to good documentation about most planes, The 3 files ending at 4.10m are older versions. Why ? I have no clue. You do not need them. 4.13.4m is the latest version. 

There is a newer, I think, "unofficial" version (link somewhere on this forum) but not via GOG and if you do the update you can not use the other mod-packs (and I had a hard time removing it, I had 3 copy's made, 1 backup, one to mod and the 3rd for the newer version, the newer version updated all 3 versions that were in total different directories) And I did not find it great either so that is why I later installed VP.