Rekt

Are High Altitudes Portrayed Accurately in the Sim?

Disclaimer: I'm not an aeronautical engineer and I'm not trying to throw a Baby Ruth in anybody's swimming pool. I also realize that equal-energy head to head dogfights are not a good measure of an aircraft's real-world capability.

THAT SAID, I was really surprised and disappointed by the P-47's performance against the Yak-1B at 10KM. From what I had read about the P-47's power and maneuverability at high altitudes, I'd sort of expected it to just pull away from the Yak at will, as well as simply outturn it since the Yak was basically at its service ceiling and gasping for air.

Quite the opposite was true. The Yak had no problem getting onto the P-47's tail, whether the AI was flying it or I was. I tried different strategies: immediately turning at the merge, blowing through the merge into a shallow dive and trying to come back at higher speed, and (the AI's favorite tactic) an immediate split-s and zoom climb to shoot. In all these cases the Yak was able to compete, no problem. Even at 300 mph IAS the P-47 would snap into an accelerated stall very easily (seems odd to me...I know the air is thin up there but that's why we rely on indicated airspeeds). I was able to dive away from the Yak as one might expect.

Most combat is down low on BoX so this question is mostly academic. I guess the feeling I'm coming away with is that it was pointless for Republic to put all that effort, weight, and volume into installing a huge turbo in the P-47 to perform at high altitude if they could have instead just strapped an average V12 with a 2-speed supercharger to a light airframe and called it good.

If the sim's portrayal of the atmosphere at high altitude is legit, what am I missing/doing wrong?

(P-47 throttle wide open, prop.100%, boost button pressed, turbo linked to the throttle or adjusted manually to keep the light blinking.)