Hello

I want to share with all of you my struggle over the past 2.5 years, now that the diameter of the circle of light at the end of the tunnel widens as each day passes.

2.5 years ago I was a virtual fighter pilot, my weapon of choice being the Bf109-F4. When I roamed the skies of IL2 I was in my happy place, a safe place, and every day I made time to hone my skills and progress in my hobby; a hobby by the way that I had no shame in taking perhaps a little bit too seriously. Even when I was not flying and sneaking up behind Yaks at 650km/h, I took daily comfort in daydreaming and reliving my greatest kills in my mind whilst sitting in my work cubicle, ostensibly taking part in sales meetings, or listening to my wife.

2.5 years ago my computer died and I lost a part of me and my sense of self. Circumstances at the time lead me to delay the purchase of a new rig which I figured would only be a matter of months; I could handle that, I could be patient. However, moving forward a few months, my wife and I decided to build our first home and for the 18 month construction waiting time we decided to be financially savvy and move in with my parents who live about 45 minutes drive from the city.

Once we settled in I knew it was only a matter of time until I was restored to my former fit, fighting and flying self: it was time to buy a new PC and not just any PC, but one that could run IL2 BOS in all its glory.

I picked up my new rig and brought it home to set up after which I had to download and reinstall Il2 BoS- there had been a number of significant updates since I had last played and I was particularly looking forward to trying out the spitfire and flying circus.

I opened the launcher and began downloading the game and then I was informed of this:

Download speed 16k/s

Download time 6 days (if at all)