istari6

Way to increase fragility for ground collisions?

I'm a new IL-2 pilot, coming over from many hundreds of hours in DCS.  One of the biggest differences is in the "toughness" of the airframes.  IL-2 aircraft seem unrealistically robust, able to smash into the ground at surprisingly high speeds and still stay intact.  I've flown through forests at 500 kph, clipped a wing and then somersaulted into the ground, coming to a rest with my pilot alive and ready for the next mission.

I've been surprised what an "immersion-killer" this is for me personally.  DCS really feels much more dangerous, where almost any contact with the ground can be disastrous, and dead-sticking to a landing and surviving it is a real accomplishment.  

Are there any mods or config settings that can affect this parameter?  I'm running full realism already, is there any way to crank the realism further?

Thanks!

BTW - just to be clear.  I'm not claiming "oh noz! the game is broken!".  Although I'm still learning the game, there are aspects of IL-2 that are clearly superior to DCS.  For example, I was flying a 109 over an enemy column the other day and an AAA round blew a hole in my right wing.  I was so busy gaping at the detail exposed of the underlying wing spar and internal systems, that I didn't jink and the next round blew my tail off :).  I love the realism of the damage models.  It's just that the unrealistic hardiness of the airframes really detracts from immersion for me personally.    

• Upvote 5

I think that death by ground is determined almost strictly by g-forces.  If they think you could have survived the g-force of the collision, then you survive.  They don’t try to determine if you would have lost enough pieces during the collision to make death likely even if the g-forces didn’t kill you.

btw, I don’t think the airframes are that tough.  They appear to fall apart quite realistically as you tumble across the ground.  The pilots, however, survive a lot of punishment.