mattswe

Dive bombing in il2?

Hi guys! 

I'm quite new to this sim, steadily learning. Lately I've been flying the IL2, trying to learn some dive bombing. But it doesn't go very well. I have no consistency at all hitting the targets. And don't really seem to improve. Do you guys have any tips that I could make use of? Would be highly appreciated. 

/Matt

5 seconds delay on the fuse and drop the bomb so close to the target that there is no way you can miss, then die from aa fire around the target. 😅

2 minutes ago, Sandmarken said:

then die from aa fire around the target. 😅

Yeah, that part works just fine for me. 😀

• Haha 3

11 minutes ago, mattswe said:

Hi guys! 

I'm quite new to this sim, steadily learning. Lately I've been flying the IL2, trying to learn some dive bombing. But it doesn't go very well. I have no consistency at all hitting the targets. And don't really seem to improve. Do you guys have any tips that I could make use of? Would be highly appreciated. 

/Matt

Practice. It's fun.

Hunt trains in the QMB. No AAA on the trains most of the time. Big fun slow targets with nice fireworks when hit. Start low, go high, play with delays on the fuses. All of a sudden you'll get the feel and be getting at least close most of the time. You can have 6 bombs on the Il2 so you get to make several passes and see what works.

I spend more time in the IL2 than all other planes combined. Just love it.

Posted (edited)
35 minutes ago, mattswe said:

Hi guys! 

/Matt

It´s all in the setup. Set yourself up for a good position and then make a decently steep dive towards your target and drop with a bit of altitude left. I usually aim for about 1000m (3000ft) for my drop altitude. Here´s a few videos on the topic. They all explain it pretty well. With a bit of practice you´re going to be nailing your target every time.

Edited by Psyrion
  • Thanks 1
  • Upvote 1

Posted (edited)