My idea for a modern FFB stick

My last MS FF2 finally gave it up, only a few buttons that I can eventually rewire.

I had a perceived epiphany : )

As a pilot I was thrilled with being able to feel the edge of the stall, and compression of high speed. Now I think the biggest flaw in FF sticks is gearing, and motors. I also feel that not nearly enough has been done for FF fans, aside from G940.

My idea is a stick of Warthog quality, that has FF. To achieve this I have been looking into micro hydraulics. This would in theory work perfect for flight control feedback, simple resistance no springs,gears,or motors....well. One small motor for pump. Personally I could not care less about recoil effects.

Perhaps this has been done, if not It certainly seems doable

Yeah...some people know my tendency to review flight sim hardware and not be all that easy to please. 

It doesn't seem like it should be all that hard, but nothing I've used really feels much like real control sticks and rudder pedals....I've already modeled a design for both that I think would be awesome, and have some plans for serious FFB with the option to run realistic levels of stick forces. Oh to have the time to actually start producing them! 

I could probably have them made at my company, if I could just convince the bean-counters that it wouldn't cost us too much. There just aren't that many people out there that want this hardware. 

that sounds...a bit pricey :biggrin:

I like the idea though, hydraulic may help to get rid of the gears we sometimes feel moving the stick. It may produce some stronger FFB to better simulate the locking of controls in certains situations, and hall sensors are just perfect for joystick.

But anyway, more thant 2K$ is way, I mean WAY out of my budget for stick. 300$ is what I would put into a hotas, but no way it is going into a single stick.