Sign in to follow this  
ShamrockOneFive

Mastering the art of the furball

I flew a couple of short (and sometimes frustrating) sorties in the Pfalz during this Sundays great multiplayer event and it revealed that outside of the Sopwith Camel... I'm a terrible WWI fighter pilot. So I'm look for some help flying the Pfalz D.IIIa against Camels and SPADs.

I'm pretty understanding that this is not the best of the fighters available but I seem to have an issue with my tactics. First, I do what I'm used to doing which is approach with altitude advantage and attempt to use that to dominate the fight. Except... I find that I just can't dive fast enough to surprise the enemy or I do but on the zoom climb out I don't retain enough speed to get out of gun range.

I tend not to blame my tools as much as I can and rather regroup and learn some new tactics. Any suggestions out there? :)

43 minutes ago, ShamrockOneFive said:

Any suggestions out there?

To be completely honest you're doing the right thing, starting with altitude and diving on your opponents. The Pfalz has a very sturdy wing structure so it preforms rather well in dives. My advice would be try to get a good burst in to weaken the camel or spad. If you face the spad keep yourself slower and try to get them to loose their energy since the spad is quite awful at turning at slow speeds. For the camel I'd say try to weaken it with the first pass and stay aggressive since the camel will out turn you in most scenarios. You're sturdier so try so harder maneuvers to get the camel to stall and spin, leaving you an opening. 

Good hunting.

6 hours ago, ShamrockOneFive said:

I find that I just can't dive fast enough to surprise the enemy or I do but on the zoom climb out I don't retain enough speed to get out of gun range.

You're not alone. BnZ attacks are even difficult in a Spad now (compared to RoF). 

I believe a number of factors in FC contribute to this.