JG27_PapaFly

Collection of flight model issues

Posted (edited)

Dear developers, I'd like to discuss a series of flight model issues with you (see attached video).

I am a real-life glider pilot with 25 years of flight simulator experience. I am a PhD in biotech research and develop test methods for a living. I have no red or blue agenda.

My squadmates and I have performed dozens of test flights (game vesion 3.009) and I have compiled a video which demonstrates following issues (not in order of appearance):

1) Global issue: Ailerons are too effective at high AoA and at extremely slow speeds, especially at and beyond
critical AoA.  This was not an issue in IL-2 1946.

2) Global issue: There is too little adverse yaw (aileron drag) at high AoA. A NACA publication showed that e.g.
the Spitfire V yawed 18 degrees when full ailerons were applied at 1.1 x stall speed. This was not
an issue in IL-2 1946.

3) Global issue: Sideslip makes the planes stall-proof. This was not an issue in IL-2 1946.

4) Global issue: Planes can be recovered from upright spins with ailerons only, even if full positive elevator
and full in-spin rudder are applied. This was not an issue in IL-2 1946.

5) Global issue: The structural g limit is not reduced under asymmetric g loads. In reality, a 25-33% reduction
is standard. A plane with a structural limit of 9 g will have a limit of e.g. 6 g when rolling while pulling gs. A
plane applying full elevator, rudder and aileron control inputs at the same time should have even stricter limits.

6) Global issue: Heavy planes have no advantage in dives and zooms, even if they have high power-to-weight
as well as weight-to-drag ratios. This was demonstrated by comparing the Spitfire IX with Fw190 A-5 & A8
and P-47D-28. This goes completely against published wartime reports and was not an issue in IL-2 1946.

7) Global issue: Planes with high gyroscopic forces can do gyroscopic vertical reversals without departing from