Andre0815

BoS - Cannot shot down planes

Hello,

I am new to BoS an have the problem that I cannot shot down airplanes. I had some dogfights where I shoted a long while with the MG. Even targeting a bit beside the target plane does not bring results. 

Can annybody tell me whats the trick in shooting planes down.. Currently I play FastMissions ...

Thanks A

Hi Andre, I suggest tha you enable the 'aiming aid' in the options (I can't remember the exact name of this option. It's the third or fourth option on the left column)

this will display an additional cue on the visor so that you know exactly where to aim when doing deflection shooting

Really useful when beginning with ww2 dogfights!

13 minutes ago, Andre0815 said:

Can annybody tell me whats the trick in shooting planes down..

Practice

• Upvote 2

Salutations,

Once you get close enough, don't always shoot directly at the enemy craft... shoot ahead to where it is going. Try leading the target when circumstances permit.

SeaSepent is correct. Practice improves results. :salute:

Posted (edited)

Youtube has a lot of valuable information for newcomers to the genre, use it.

The most important thing you can do now is allow yourself the time to learn this stuff. No Hartmann fell from the sky, you know:)

Edited by Mauf
  • Upvote 1

Posted (edited)

Hartmann was a quite bad pilot at his debuts.. 😄

Don't forget that certain weapons are more or less only to disturb and annoy your opponent if you can get only a few projectiles into him from time to time. If you want these weapons to be efficient, you need a constantly efficient aiming, in a stable and precise way, so that your ammo shoot the same area of the plane.

Edited by Solmyr

Honestly the AI fights in quick missions can sometimes be harder than online because they fly in a constantly curving flight path that often requires you to shoot with the enemy plane at least partially obscured behind the nose to get hits.