II./JG77_motoadve

Asymmetrical flap damage Me 109

Notice this in the 109 (maybe P47 do this too)

You loose the flap on one side in a dogfight (at least graphically the flap is gone)

Then when you deploy flaps only one side goes down (other side its gone).

You feel a bit of roll, just a bit and easily compensated with aileron, this flaps go to 40 degrees, the plane should roll or almost be un controllable when deploying flaps.

Unless its another deal where graphically its just some holes in the flaps.

• Upvote 1

It appears 109 has 4 flaps: 2 smaller inner-ones and 2 larger outer-ones. I had one of the larger flaps shot out and the plane was hard to control when landing (at 40 degrees). I am not an expert but I felt that was realistic enough.

Its way to easy and forgiving, unrealistic.

Realistic would be uncontrollable or barely controllable with full opposite aileron, when deploying flaps, so landing should not be attempted with flaps.

I fly real planes and a failure like this its very unforgiving and has caused many accidents in airplanes with less than 40 degrees of flaps.

• Like 1

Interesting observation motoadve.

I believe I once experienced a similar situation, but I recall it was almost impossible to control the aircraft, so, I would go for a graphical bug maybe?

Doesn't the 109 use parts of the radiators as flaps too (I think the whole rad outlet can swivel to a degree to act as additional flaps surface)? Maybe that's the reason it can compensate the loss of one outer flap to a degree.

4min 30sec. Spitfire missing one flap and one aileron. Fully controllable. I stalled it repeatedly and willingly, in both directions, to demonstrate that it recovers instantly, although I am constantly sideslipping.

• Thanks 2
  • Upvote 2

great analysis : I wonder if the Spit problems are only limited to this plane or if they are also present for others.

I hope that it will be taken into account. 

8 hours ago, JG27_PapaFly said: