Sign in to follow this  
Geronimo553

Why was the BF109K faster than the P51D? Video

Found this lovely video that is very informative. So I thought I would share it for others to enjoy. Hopefully this will assist the devs as well.

Also Greg posts very informative quality videos in general, check out some of his other content.

Edited by Geronimo553
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 2
  • Upvote 2

I cant recall if he brings this up, but IIRC he does not. The 109 was not faster than the P-51D. At best altitude, both planes hit around the same 440mph. The Mustang was faster as altitude dropped off. 

The 454mph figure normally quoted is for a propeller than never entered production

Great vid! If I was a mustang pilot I wouldn't be afraid of the K4 perhaps being marginally faster at certain altitudes. The K4's huge advantage in climb, acceleration and most likely sustained turn performance make it a very dangerous opponent.

Edited by JG27_PapaFly
  • Thanks 2
  • Haha 1

I highly recommend Greg's channel too. A lot of interesting stuff is explained as simple as possible. From a practical point there are water methanol kits for cars too. I wonder why the method  is not used by the cars industry. Not necessarily as a fighter perspective for boosting the power, but from the bomber perspective to increase the range.

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, JG27_PapaFly said:

Great vid! If I was a mustang pilot I wouldn't be afraid of the K4 perhaps being marginally faster at certain altitudes. The K4's huge advantage in climb, acceleration and most likely sustained turn performance make it a very dangerous opponent.

If it weren't for it's climb rate the k4 would be easy to handle. It can climb away at will and can slow climb like mad.

Climb is what makes it most difficult for me to counter, speed/turn/acceleration aren't much of a problem for me, but for it to be able to climb so easily is a huge advantage for the K4.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Legioneod said: